Hazardous Waste Transporter Registration Packet
NOTE: Our address has changed. The Forms section below has our new address.
To transport hazardous waste, your company must apply to the Department of Toxic Substances Control (DTSC) to obtain a Hazardous Waste Transporter Registration. DTSC, upon determining that your application is complete, will issue a Hazardous Waste Transporter Registration Certificate. The determination process can take up to 14 calendar days provided all necessary documents are submitted with the application and are complete and accurate. If the application packet is incomplete, a deficiency letter will be mailed, and the applicant will have 30 days to make corrections. If corrections are not made in that time frame, the application will be denied.
Once the Hazardous Waste Transporter Registration is issued, the registration expires after one year. To renew your registration, you must re-apply at least 45 days prior to the expiration date. Persons who transport hazardous waste without a current and valid registration are subject to penalties of up to $25,000 per day.
To register to become a hazardous waste transporter, read and complete the required forms and supplemental information in the Hazardous Waste Transporter Registration Packet.
Additional links to other agencies who have transporter related requirements are listed below. These include the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, U.S. Department of Transportation, the California Highway Patrol and the California Department of Public Health.
Click on one of the links below to go directly to a specific topic: