Managing Hazardous Waste

We strengthen regulations and streamline waste management

Lead-Acid Battery Recycling Act of 2016 (AB 2153, Chapter 666, Statutes of 2016)

(Article 10.5 (commencing with Section 25215) of Chapter 6.5 of Division 20 of the H&SC)

  1. California Battery Fee (H&SC 25215.25). On and after April 1, 2017, until March 31, 2022, this law requires a California Battery Fee in the amount of $1 to be imposed on a “person,” as specified in statute, for each qualifying lead-acid battery purchased from a dealer. The bill authorizes the dealer to retain one and one-half percent of the fee as reimbursement for any costs associated with the collection of the fee and requires the dealer to remit the remainder to CDTFA. On and after April 1, 2022, the law increases the California Battery Fee to $2. On and after January 1, 2020, if a new motor vehicle dealer sells or leases to a person a used vehicle into which the new motor vehicle dealer has incorporated a replacement lead-acid battery, the California Battery Fee does not apply to the person with regard to that replacement lead-acid battery.
  2. Manufacturer Battery Fee (H&SC 25215.35). On and after April 1, 2017, until March 31, 2022, this law requires a fee of $1 to be imposed on a “manufacturer,” as specified in statute, of lead-acid batteries for each lead-acid battery it sells at retail to a person in California, or that it sells to a dealer, wholesaler, distributor, or other person for retail sale in California. On and after April 1, 2022, the Manufacturer Battery Fee increases from $1 to $2, and this fee continues indefinitely without an expiration date.