Website Archive

Content on DTSC’s Website Archive is no longer being updated. It is being provided for informational purposes only and may be out of date, contain technical inaccuracies, typographical errors or broken links. This content is not promised or guaranteed to be correct, current or complete. DTSC assumes no responsibility (and expressly disclaims responsibility) for updating this site. Any reliance on the content contained herein is at the user’s own risk. Users are solely responsible for confirming the accuracy and completeness of all posted information before citing or using the information. By accessing this site, users agree that DTSC shall not be held liable for any claim, loss or damages which may result from the use of, access to, or inability to use the content contained herein.

Hazardous Materials: Motor Vehicle Brake Friction Materials

DTSC Reference Number: R-2014-01
OAL Reference Number: Z-2016-0329-04

OAL Approval Date: 09/30/16
Secretary of State Filing Date: 09/30/16
Effective Date: 01/01/17


The Hazardous Materials: Motor Vehicle Brake Friction Materials was approved by the Office of Administrative Law (OAL) and filed with the Secretary of State on September 30, 2016.  These regulations went into effect on January 1, 2017:

The governor of California approved Senate Bill 346 on September 10, 2010 and enacted Health and Safety Code (HSC) sections 25250 et seq. The statute, commencing on January 1, 2014, prohibits the sale of any motor vehicle brake friction materials containing specified constituents in amounts that exceed certain concentrations. The statute allows, until December 31, 2023, motor vehicle manufacturers and distributors, wholesalers, or retailers of replacement brake friction materials to deplete their inventory of noncompliant materials. Commencing on January 1, 2021, the statute prohibits motor vehicle brake friction materials containing more than 5.0 % copper by weight from being sold in the state, and, commencing on January 1, 2025, prohibits motor vehicle brake friction materials exceeding 0.5% copper by weight from being sold in the state. DTSC is responsible for implementing this statute.

The following documents were submitted to OAL for approval and filing with the Secretary of State on 9/30/16:

The Department of Toxic Substances Control (DTSC) opened a 45-day comment period and 15-day comment period for the proposed Motor Vehicle Brake Friction Material Regulations. The 45-day and 15-day comment periods are closed.

Informal draft documents that were available for interested parties to comment on are below:

Final Documents

DTSC held a public hearing at 8:00 a.m. (PDT) on Friday, May 27, 2016 at the Cal/EPA Building 1001 “I” Street, Sacramento, California 95814 (details in the notice).

You may also contact DTSC’s regulations coordinator to obtain physical copies by mail or in person:

Mr. Benjamin Molin     |   916-322-4882    |