California Environmental Protection Agency
Department of Toxic Substances Control
Transporter Unit

1001 | Street MS 11A, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (800) 618-6942 Fax: (916) 323-3500

Supplemental Information On Insurance Coverage
DTSC Form 1309 (Revision 04/2020)

Insurance coverage required pursuant to Health and Safety Code section 25169 must
cover “public liability” which includes bodily injury, property damage, and environmental
restoration. Environmental restoration includes restitution for the loss, damage, or
destruction of natural resources arising out of the accidental discharge, dispersal,
release, or escape into or upon the land, atmosphere, watercourse, or body of water of
any commodity transported by a motor carrier. This liability includes the cost of removal
and the cost of necessary measures taken to minimize or mitigate damage or potential
for damage to human health, the natural environment, fish, shellfish, and wildlife.

The terms of the insurance policy or bond must conform to the federal Form MCS-90 or
Form MCS-82 as defined in 49 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) sections 387.7 to
387.15 for hazardous materials and hazardous substances, which includes hazardous
waste. Waste petroleum in bulk shipments and vehicles weighing less than 10,000
Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) are exceptions. The limits of liability are outlined
below.

Please give this instruction sheet to your insurance company as they can issue the
necessary endorsement to your insurance policy and send us proper documentation.
Attached is a Certificate of Insurance for Public Liability Coverage form (DTSC 8038),
which may be completed and signed by your insurance company. Alternately, your
insurance company can issue an insurance endorsement to your insurance policy, Form
MCS-90 or surety bond, Form MCS-8.

Commodity Transporter
A. Transporters of petroleum and/or petroleum products in bulk, including waste
petroleum and/or waste petroleum products, in tank or vacuum-type trucks or
trailers. [Vehicle Code section 34631.5(a)(3)]. Combined single limit coverage:
$1,200,000.

B. Transporters whose vehicles have GVWR of 10,000 pounds or more. [Vehicle
Code section 34631.5(a)(4)]

1. Qil listed in 49 CFR section 172.101 not mentioned in B.2.; hazardous
waste, hazardous materials and hazardous substances defined in 49 CFR
section 171.8 but not mentioned in B.2.; hazardous waste as defined in
Health and Safety Code section 25117 and the California Code of
Regulations, Title 22, Chapter 11, Article 1 but not mentioned in B.
Combined single limit coverage: $1,000,000.



2. Hazardous substances, as defined in 49 CFR section 171.8, transported
in cargo tanks, portable tanks, or hopper-type vehicles with capacities in
excess of 3,500 water gallons; or any quantity of class 1.1, 1.2, or 1.3
explosives; any quantity of poison gas (Poison A); or highway route
controlled quantity radioactive materials as defined in 49 CFR section
173.403. Combined single limit coverage: $5,000,000.

C. Transporters of hazardous wastes whose vehicles have GVWR of less than
10,000 pounds [Health and Safety Code section 25169(c)(1)], except from
item A above, please sign and submit the certification below attached to the
certificate of insurance. Combined single limit coverage: $600,000.

Applicant Certification

| certify under penalty of law that all vehicles to be certified under my hazardous waste
transporter registration have a gross vehicle weight rating of less than 10,000 pounds
and that | do not transport waste petroleum products in bulk.

Name (printed or type): Title:

Business Name:

Signature: Date:
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