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I. Introduction 
 

This fact sheet provides information and guidance on the requirements for Hazardous 
Waste Generators pursuant to the California Health and Safety Code (Health & Safety 
Code) and Title 22, California Code of Regulations (CA Code Regs.). A "generator" is 
any person, by site, whose act or process produces hazardous waste or whose act first 
causes a hazardous waste to become subject to regulation. (Title 22, CA Code Regs., 
section 66260.10.) This fact sheet does not replace or supersede relevant statutes and 
regulations. The information contained in this fact sheet is based upon the statutes and 
regulations in effect as of the date of the fact sheet. Interested parties are advised to 
keep apprised of subsequent changes to relevant statutes and regulations. Unless 
otherwise specified, the citation for each requirement is from Title 22, CA Code Regs. 

II. Requirements 
 

The following requirements apply to generators of hazardous waste except for 
generators that generate no more than 100 kg exclusively of silver-only hazardous 
waste. (Please see Section III of this fact sheet for the requirements that apply to 
generators that generate no more than 100 kg exclusively of silver-only hazardous 
waste.) 
 
A. Hazardous Waste Determination 
 
Determine if the waste is hazardous. Is it toxic, reactive, ignitable or corrosive? (Section 
66262.11.) Is the waste listed as a hazardous waste in article 4 or Appendix X of chapter 
11 of division 4.5 of Title 22, CA Code Regulations. 
 
B. Identification Number 

 
This number identifies each handler on hazardous waste manifests and other paperwork. 
The identification number enables regulators to track the waste from origin to final 
disposal ("cradle to grave"). These numbers are site-specific and there must be only one 
number at a single address. If you have a business that generates waste at multiple 
addresses, each address needs a separate identification number. All hazardous waste 
transporters and permitted treatment, storage and disposal facilities (TSDFs) must have 
an identification number. Hazardous waste generators must have an identification 
number (section 66262.12) unless you generate only silver waste less than or equal to 
100 kg per month. (Health & Safety Code, sections 25160.2 (b)(10) and 25160.2 (e)). 
Handlers of federally regulated RCRA waste who need an identification number should 
contact the U.S. EPA at 415-495-8895. Handlers of State regulated hazardous waste 



who do not need the federal number should contact DTSC's Generator Information 
Services Section (GISS) at 800-618-6942. (Section 66262.12.) Out-of-State callers 
should call 916-255- 1136 to obtain an identification number. There is no fee to obtain  
identification number. However, every generator number is subject to an annual 
verification, and for those with 50 or more employees a verification fee is assessed. 
(Health & Safety Code, section 25205.16.) For more detailed explanation on identification 
numbers, read DTSC's Fact Sheet "EPA Identification Numbers" (September 2000). 
 
C. Accumulation 

 
1. Hazardous waste may be accumulated onsite in generator accumulation units 

(containers, tanks, drip pads, or containment buildings) only in compliance with 
the applicable time limits specified in Health & Safety Code, section 25123.3 (90 
days, 180 days, 270 days or 365 days). (Section 66262.34.) 

 
2. If hazardous waste is accumulated in containers, a generator must comply with 

Title 22, CA Code Regs., division 4.5, chapter 15, article9 (Use and Management 
of Containers). These requirements include: 

3. Maintaining all containers so that they are: 
 
a) in good condition (Section 66265.171); 
b) compatible with contents (Section 66265.172); 
c) closed, except when adding or removing hazardous waste (Section 

66265.173); 
d) managed to avoid rupture or leaks (Section 66265.173); 
e) inspected weekly (Section 66265.174); and  
f) properly labeled (Section 66262.34). 

 
4. While DTSC does not require secondary containment for a generator's hazardous 

waste containers, local codes may require it. 
 

5. If hazardous waste is accumulated in tanks, a generator must comply with Title 
22, CA Code Regs., division 4.5, chapter 15, article 10 (Tank Systems Standards) 
except for Sections 66265.197(c) and 66265.200. These requirements include 
maintaining all tanks so that the tanks are: 
 
a) inspected daily (Section 66265.195); 
b) properly labeled (Section 66262.34); and 
c) designed to hold hazardous waste and not collapse or leak. (Section 

66265.192 
 

Most tanks and tank systems must have secondary containment. Secondary 
containment can include a liner, vault or double-walled tank. Appurtenances also 
must be contained. Secondary containment needs to be certified by a professional 
engineer registered in California. (Section 66265.191- 66265.196.) 

 



   

6. If hazardous waste is placed on drip pads, the generator must comply with Title 
22, CA Code Regs., division 4.5, chapter 15, article 17.5 (Drip Pads) and maintain 
the following records at the facility: 
 
a) a description of procedures that will be followed to ensure that all wastes are 

removed from the drip pad and associated collection system at least once 
every 90 days; and 

b) documentation of each waste removal, including the quantity of waste 
removed, the sump or collection system and the date and time of removal.  
 

7. The owner or operator of a containment building must maintain the following 
records at the facility: 
 
a) a written description of procedures to ensure that each waste volume remains 

in the unit for no more than 90 days, a written description of the waste 
generation and facility management practices showing that they are consistent 
with the 90 day limit, and documentation that the procedures are complied with 
(Section 66262.34 (a)(1)(C)(1)); or 

b) documentation that the unit is emptied at least once every 90 days. (Section 
66262.34 (a)(1)(C)(2)). 

 
8. A generator accumulating in tanks or containers is exempt from articles 7 and 8 in 

Title 22, CA Code Regs., division 4.5, chapter 15, except Sections 66265.111 
(Closure Performance Standards) and 66265.114 (Decontamination). (Section 
66262.34 (a)(1)). 

 
For a more detailed explanation on accumulation requirements, read DTSC's 
"Accumulating Hazardous Wastes at Generator Sites" Fact Sheet (January 2002). 
 
D. Labeling/Marking 
 

1. The date upon which each period of accumulation begins must be clearly 
marked and visible for inspection on each accumulation unit. (Section 
66262.34.) 
 

2. While being accumulated on site, each generator tank or container must be 
labeled or clearly marked with the words, "Hazardous Waste." (Section 
66262.34.) 
 

3. Each container and portable tank in which hazardous waste is accumulated 
must be labeled with the following information: 
 
a) Composition and physical state of the waste; 
b) statement or statements that call attention to the particular hazardous 

properties of the waste (e.g. flammable, reactive); and  
c) name and address of the generator. (Section 66262.34.) 



 
4. Containers and tanks used by the generator to collect or consolidate wastes 

initially accumulated in other containers or tanks are subject to the same 
labeling requirements. The initial accumulation and "90-day period" dates on 
the "collection" container/ tank must be the oldest of the initial accumulation 
and "90-day period" dates from the various containers/tanks emptied into the 
"collection" container/tank. This may require dates to be changed if wastes 
from "older" containers/tanks are added to the "collection" container/tank. 
 

5. In some cases, containers are continuously reused for accumulation of the 
same waste stream; e.g., drums used to initially accumulate waste which when 
full are emptied into larger "collection" containers. "Recurring use" labels may 
be used on such containers to revise the initial accumulation and "90-day 
period" dates (without having to change the other labeling information). If the 
container is emptied at least once each day, the word "daily" may be used in 
the date area of the label. 

 
E. Emergency Procedures/Contingency Plans 
 

1. All Generators 
 
All generators must comply with these requirements regarding preparedness and 
prevention: 

 
a) All operations must minimize the possibility of a fire, explosion or any 

unplanned release of hazardous waste or hazardous waste constituents to 
air, soil, or surface water that could threaten human health or the 
environment. (40 C.F.R. section 265.31, Section 66265.31) 

b) A generator's site must be equipped with the following, unless it can be 
demonstrated to DTSC that none of the hazards posed by waste could 
require a particular kind of equipment specified below: 
 

1. Internal communication or alarm system to provide immediate instruction to 
personnel; 

2. A telephone, two-way radio, or similar device, capable of summoning 
emergency assistance from local police departments, fire departments, or 
state or local emergency response teams; 

3. Portable fire extinguishers, fire control equipment, spill containment 
equipment and decontamination equipment; and 

4. Water at adequate volume and pressure to supply water hose streams or 
foam producing equipment or automatic sprinklers or water spray systems. 
(40 C.F.R. section 265.32, section 66265.32) 

c) All communications and alarm systems, fire protection equipment, spill 
control equipment and decontamination equipment, where required, must 
be tested and maintained as necessary to ensure its proper operation in 
time of emergency. (40 C.F.R. section 265.33, section 66265.33) 



   

d) Whenever hazardous waste is being handled, all personnel involved in the 
operation must have immediate access to an internal alarm or emergency 
communication device, either directly or through visual or voice contact with 
another employee, unless DTSC has determined that such a device is not 
required. (40 C.F.R. section 265.34, section 66265.34.) 

e) If only one employee is on the premises while the facility is operating, 
he/she must have immediate access to a device, such as a telephone 
(immediately available at the scene of operation) or a hand-held two- way 
radio, capable of summoning external emergency assistance, unless DTSC 
has determined that such a device is not required under section 66265.32.  
(40 C.F.R. section 265.34, section 66265.34) 

f) The generator must maintain aisle space to allow the unobstructed 
movement of personnel, fire protection equipment, spill control equipment 
and decontamination equipment to any area of operation in an emergency, 
unless it can be demonstrated to DTSC that aisle space is not needed for 
any of these purposes. (40 C.F.R. section 265.35, section 66265.35) 

g) The generator must attempt to make the following arrangements, as 
appropriate, for the types of waste handled at the site and the potential 
need for the services of these organizations: 

1. Arrangements to familiarize police and fire departments, emergency 
response teams and the local Office of Emergency Services with the 
layout of the facility, properties of the hazardous waste, associated 
hazards, places where personnel would normally be working, 
entrances to roads inside the facility and possible evacuation routes; 

2. Where more than one police and fire department might respond to 
an emergency, agreements designating primary emergency 
authority to a specific police and a specific fire department, and 
agreements with any others to provide support to the primary 
emergency authority: 

3. Agreements with State emergency response teams, emergency 
response contractors and equipment suppliers; 

4. Arrangements to familiarize local hospitals with the properties of 
hazardous waste handled and the types of injuries or illnesses that 
could result from fires, explosions or releases at the facility; and 

5. Where State or local authorities decline to enter into such 
arrangements, the generator must document the refusal in the 
operating record. (40 C.F.R. section 265.37, section 66265.37) 

 
2. Less Than 1000 kg/month  
 
Generators that generate less than 1000 kg/month of  
hazardous waste must comply with the following requirements (40 C.F.R. section  
262.34(d)(5)): 

a) At all times there must be at least one employee either on the premises or on call 
(i.e., available to respond to an emergency by reaching the facility within a short 
period of time) with the responsibility for coordinating all emergency response 



measures. This employee is the emergency coordinator. (40 C.F.R. section 
262.34(d)(5)(i)). 

b) Post the following information next to the telephone: 
1. The name and telephone number of the emergency coordinator; 
2. The location of fire extinguishers and spill control material, and, if 

present, fire alarm; and 
3. The telephone number of the fire department, unless the facility has a 

direct alarm. (40 C.F.R. section 262.34(d)(5)(ii)). 
c) The emergency coordinator or his/her designee must respond to any emergencies 

that arise. In the event of a: 
1. Fire, call the fire department or attempt to extinguish it using a fire 

extinguisher; 
2. Spill, contain the flow of hazardous waste to the extent possible, and as 

soon as is practicable, clean up the hazardous waste and any 
contaminated materials or  soil; 

3. Fire, explosion, or other release that could threaten human health outside 
the facility or when the generator has knowledge that a spill has reached 
surface water, the generator must immediately notify the National 
Response Center (using their 24-hour toll free number 800/424- 8802). 
(40 C.F.R. Section 262.34(d)(5)(iv)). 

 
(3) 1000 kg/month or More 

Each generator that generates 1000 kg/month or more of hazardous waste per month must 
comply with the requirements of Title 22, CA Code Regs., division 4.5, chapter 15, article 
These requirements include: 

 
a) The generator must prepare and retain a written contingency plan and emergency 

procedures for dealing with emergencies. The contingency plan shall be designed to 
minimize hazards to human health or the environment from fires, explosions, or any 
unplanned sudden or non-sudden release of hazardous waste or hazardous waste 
constituents to air, soil, or surface water. (Section 66265.51.) 

b) The provisions of the plan must be carried out immediately whenever there is a fire, 
explosion, or release of hazardous waste or hazardous waste constituents that could 
threaten human health or the environment. (Section 66265.51.) The contents of a 
contingency plan can be found in section 66265.52. 

c) At all times there must be at least one employee, either on the premises or on call 
(i.e., available to respond to an emergency by reaching the site within a short period 
of time), with the responsibility for coordinating all emergency response measures. 
In addition, this person must have the authority to commit resources needed to carry 
out the contingency plan. (Section 66265.55.) 
 

  



   

F.   Training 
 

1. Generators that generate less than 1000 kg/month of hazardous waste must 
ensure that all employees are thoroughly familiar with proper waste handling and 
emergency procedures, relevant to their responsibilities during normal facility 
operations and emergencies. (40 C.F.R. section 262.34(d)(5)(iii)). 
 

2. Generators that generate 1000 kg or more per month of hazardous waste must 
comply with the requirements of section 66265.16. These requirements include: 

a) Personnel must successfully complete a program of classroom instruction or on-
the-job training that teaches them to perform their duties in a way that ensures 
the generator's compliance with the regulatory requirements. 

b) This program must be directed by a person trained in hazardous waste 
management procedures, and must include instruction that teaches personnel 
hazardous waste management procedures (including contingency plan 
implementation) relevant to the positions in which they are employed. 

c) At a minimum, the training program must be designed to ensure that personnel are 
able to respond effectively to emergencies by familiarizing them with emergency 
procedures, emergency equipment and emergency systems, including other 
applicable requirements. 

d) Personnel must successfully complete the program within six months after 
employment or assignment to the facility. Personnel must not work in 
unsupervised positions until they have completed the training requirements 
referenced above. They must also take part in an annual review of the initial 
training. 

e) The following documents and records must be maintained at the facility: 
1. The job title for each position related to hazardous waste management, 

and the name of the employee filling each job. 
2. A written job description for each position related to hazardous waste 

management, including the requisite skill, education or other 
qualifications and duties of employees assigned to each position. 

3. A written description of the type and amount of both introductory and 
continuing training that will be given to each person filling each of these 
positions. 

4. Records that document that the training or job experience required has 
been given to, and completed by, facility personnel. 
 

5. Training records on current personnel must be kept until closure of the 
site. Training records on former employees must be kept for at least three 
years from the date the employee last worked at the site. Personnel 
training records may accompany personnel transferred within the same 
company. (Section 66265.16.) 
 



G. Shipment 
 

When shipping hazardous waste totaling more than 50 pounds/5 gallons off the premises a 
generator must: 

 
1. Use only transporters, and transfer, treatment, storage and disposal facilities that 

are registered or permitted by DTSC and have obtained an ID number (Section 
66262.12); 

2. Comply with Department of Transportation (DOT) requirements for packaging, 
labeling and marking and ensure that the transport vehicle is correctly placarded 
(Section 66262.32); 

3. Use a California Hazardous Waste Manifest, DTSC Form 8022A, unless the 
receiving state requires otherwise. A manifest is the paperwork that accompanies 
hazardous waste from the point of generation to the point of ultimate treatment, 
storage or disposal. Manifests may be ordered from the Department of General 
Services, P. O. Box 1015, North Highlands, CA, 95660. For general manifest 
questions, call DTSC's GISS at 1-800- 618-6942. Out-of-State callers should call 
(916) 255-1136 for additional information regarding manifests (Section 66262.20 
and Section 66262.21); 

4. Complete the generator and waste sections and sign the manifest certification 
according to the instructions included in the Appendix to Chapter 12 of Division 4.5, 
Title 22, Cal. Code Regs. (Section 66262.23); 

5. Obtain the handwritten signature of the initial transporter and date of acceptance 
on the manifest (Section 66262.23); 

6. Retain two copies of the manifest, in accordance with Section 66262.40(a) (Section 
66262.23) ; 

7. Keep the generator copy of each manifest for three years or until the signed copy 
is returned by the designated facility (See (13) below). This signed copy must be 
retained for at least three years from the date the waste was accepted by the initial 
transporter (Section 66262.40); 

8. Ensure that if shipping hazardous waste to an out of state non-permitted TSD, that 
the TSD signs and returns the final copy of the manifest to the generator, who is 
then responsible for sending the signed copy to DTSC (Section 66262.23); 

9. Submit the appropriate copy of each manifest used to DTSC, within thirty (30) days 
of each shipment (Section 66262.23); 

10. If a manifest from another state is used to ship hazardous waste to that state, then 
submit a legible copy of the manifest used to DTSC within thirty (30) days of each 
shipment (Health & Safety Code, section 25160); 

11. Ship waste only to facilities authorized to accept the waste type (Section 66262.20); 
12. Contact the transporter and/or the owner or operator of the designated facility to 

determine the status of the hazardous waste if the generator has not received a 
copy of the manifest signed by the operator of the designated facility within 35 days 
of the date the waste was accepted by the initial transporter; and 

a. File an Exception Report with DTSC if a copy of the manifest signed by the 



   

facility operator is not received within 45 days of the date the waste was 
accepted by the initial transporter. The time to file an exception report is 60 
days for generators of less than 1000 kilograms per month and who meet 
other specified requirements. (Health & Safety Code, section 25123.3 (h)(2)). 
These reports must be retained for a period of three years (Section 
66262.42.) NOTE: For generators of less than 100 kilograms per month, 
there are certain transportation allowances. See Health & Safety Code, 
section 25163(c). 

 
H. Biennial Report 

 
 Submitting a biennial report is required for a generator who ships any hazardous waste 

to a transfer, treatment, storage or disposal facility within the United States. The report is 
due by March 1 of each even-numbered year and covers the previous year of hazardous 
waste activity. (Section 66262.41. ) Copies must be retained for three years. (Section 
66262.40.) For more information regarding biennial reports, call the Biennial Report 
Hotline at (916) 322-2880. 

III. Silver-Only Generator 
 

 Generators that generate no more than 100 kg exclusively of silver-only hazardous waste 
must. Comply only with the federal Conditionally Exempt Small Quantity Generator 
(CESQG) requirements in 40 C.F.R. section 261.5, instead of the Cal. Code Regs., Title 
22 requirements. They need only to: 

 
1. Determine if their waste is hazardous (40 C.F.R., 261.5(g)(1)); 
2. Accumulate no more than 100 kg of hazardous waste at any one time (40 C.F.R., 

261.5(g)(2)); and 
3. Ensure that the disposal or recycling of the hazardous waste is done at an 

authorized facility (40 C.F.R. 261.5(g)(3)). 
 

These silver-only generators do not need to obtain an identification number and they do 
not have to use a hazardous waste manifest or registered hazardous waste transporter 
when shipping their hazardous waste. For more information on the regulation of silver 
wastes, please read the DTSC fact sheet titled "Onsite Tiered Permitting: Changes in 
Regulations of Silver Wastes [as established by Senate Bill (SB) 2111] (Revised January 
2000)." 

IV. Definitions 
 
Container: A device that is open or closed, and portable, in which material can be 
stored, handled, treated, transported, recycled or disposed of. Note: Railroad cars are 
"containers", since they are portable when full and are subject to all storage and 
management requirements and restrictions applicable to containers. 
 



Containment Building: A hazardous waste management unit that is used to store or 
treat hazardous waste under the provisions of article 29 of chapter 14 or 15, division 4.5, 
Title 22, CA Code Regs. 
 
Drip Pad: An engineered structure consisting of a curbed, free-draining base, 
constructed of non-earthen materials and designed to convey preservative kick-back or 
drippage from treated wood, precipitation, and surface water run-on to an associated 
collection system at wood preserving plants. 
 
Generator or Producer: Any person, by site, whose act or process produces hazardous 
waste or whose act first causes a hazardous waste to become subject to regulation. 
 
Grant of Authorization: A permit, interim status authorization, variance, permit-by-rule, 
conditional authorization, conditional exemption, or consent order. 
 
Hazardous Waste Facility or Facility: All contiguous land and structures, other 
appurtenances, and improvements on the land used for treatment, transfer, storage, 
resource recovery, disposal or recycling of hazardous wastes. A hazardous waste facility 
may consist of one or more treatment, transfer, storage, resource recovery, disposal or 
recycling operational units or combinations of these units. 
 
Non-RCRA Hazardous Waste: All hazardous waste regulated in the State of California, 
other than RCRA (federally-regulated) hazardous waste. A hazardous waste is presumed 
to be RCRA hazardous waste, unless it is determined pursuant to Section 66261.101 
that it is a non-RCRA hazardous waste. 
 
Offsite: Any site that is not onsite. 
 
Onsite: Geographically contiguous property that may be divided by public or private 
right-of-way, provided the entrance and exit between the properties is at a crossroads 
intersection, and access is by crossing as opposed to going along the right-of-way. 
Noncontiguous properties owned by the same person but connected by a right-of-way 
which that person controls and to which the public does not have access, are also 
considered onsite property. 
 
RCRA: The acronym stands for Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA). 
Federal statute that regulates generators, transporters, and facilities that treat, store or 
dispose of hazardous waste. All RCRA hazardous wastes are identified in Part 261 of 
title 40 of the C.F.R. and appendices and title 22, Cal. Code Regs., Section 66261.1et 
seq. 
 
Silver-only Hazardous Waste: Wastes containing silver or silver compounds that are 
hazardous waste solely due to the presence of silver in the waste. These wastes are 
regulated according to the provisions of Health & Safety Code, section 25143.13. 
 
Storage Facility: A hazardous waste facility at which the hazardous waste is either: 



   

 
a) held onsite past the applicable time limit (90/ 180/270 days); 
b) held for any period of time at an offsite facility that is not a transfer facility; or 
c) held at a transfer facility for periods longer than six days, or longer than 10 days for 

transfer facilities located in industrial areas. 
d) DTSC may extend the above period of time for hazardous waste that is generated 

as a result of an emergency release and that is collected and temporarily stored by 
emergency rescue personnel, as defined in Section 25501, or by a response action 
contractor, upon the request of emergency rescue personnel or the response action 
contractor. 

e) The hazardous waste is held at a transfer facility for any period of time in a manner 
other than in a container or tank. 

f) The hazardous waste is held at a transfer facility for any period of time and handling 
occurs other than the transfer of packages or containerized hazardous waste from 
one vehicle to another. 

g) A grant of authorization from the Department is required for a Hazardous Waste 
Storage Facility. 

 
Tank: A stationary device, designed to contain an accumulation of hazardous waste 
constructed primarily of non-earthen materials (e.g., wood, concrete, steel, plastic) which 
provide structural support. Note: Devices designed to allow attached "hard-piping" are 
considered to be tanks because this indicates that they are not intended to be moved  while 
in use. 

DTSC Offices 
 
All questions regarding Hazardous Waste Generator Requirements should be directed to 
the DTSC Office nearest you. You may contact the regional Public and Business Liaisons 
by calling (800) 72TOXIC (1-800-728-6942), or by visiting DTSC’s web site at 
www.dtsc.ca.gov. 
 
DTSC Headquarters 
1001 I Street, Sacramento, CA 95812 
(916) 323-2678 
 
Sacramento Office 
8800 Cal Center Drive 
Sacramento, CA 95826 
(916) 255-3617 
 
Berkeley Office 
700 Heinz Avenue, 2nd Floor, 
Berkeley, CA 94710 
(510) 540-3739 
 

www.dtsc.ca.gov


Clovis Office 
1515 Tollhouse Road 
Clovis, CA 93611-0522 
(559) 297-3901 
 
Glendale Office 
1011 North Grandview Avenue 
Glendale, CA 94710 
(818) 551-2830 
 
Cypress Office 
5796 Corporate Ave 
Cypress, CA 90630 
(714) 484-5400 
 
San Diego Office 
2878 Camino del Rio South, Suite 402 
San Diego, CA 92108-3847 
(619) 278-3734 
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