Lead-Acid Battery Dealers/Manufacturers Inspection Checklist

This checklist is meant to assist DTSC staff during their inspections of Dealer and Manufacturer facilities to ensure the provisions outlined in the Lead-Acid Battery Recycling Act of 2016 have been properly implemented.

Business Information

Business Name		
Business Owner		
Account Number		
Business Address		
Date of Inspection		
Inspected by		
	Name (Print)	Signature
Consent Given by		
	Name (Print)	Signature
_		
	_	
_		
_		

DTSC 1627 (1/2020) Page 1 of 5

State of California – California Environmental Protection Agency Department of Toxic Substances Control

Manufacturer Inspection Items

Manufacturers (25215.1(h))							
Inspection Items		Compliant		Remarks			
		No	N/A	Remarks			
25215.65 – On and after July 1, 2017, is a recycling symbol, consistent with the requirements of Section 103(b)(1) of the Federal Mercury Containing and							
Rechargeable Battery Management Act, placed on all replacement lead- acid batteries sold in California? AND Are either "Pb" OR the words "lead," "return," and "recycle" placed on all replacement lead-acid batteries sold in California?							

DTSC 1627 (1/2020) Page 2 of 5

Dealer Inspection Items

Dealers (25215.1(d)) (For all "retail sales" and "sales at retail" as described in 25215.1(p) directly to persons in California)						
Inconcition Items	Compliant		N/A	Domestic		
Inspection Items		Yes No		Remarks		
25215.2(a) – Is the Dealer accepting used lead-acid batteries, up to six per day per person, from persons at the point of transfer (other than batteries described in Health and Safety Code section 25215.1(f)(3))?						
AND						
Is the Dealer not charging a fee to receive a used lead-acid battery?						
25215.2(b) – On and after April 1, 2017, is the Dealer charging a refundable deposit for each battery purchased to each person who purchases a replacement lead-acid battery (other than batteries described in Health and Safety Code section 25215.1(f)(3)), who does not simultaneously provide the Dealer with a used lead-acid battery of the same type and size?						
AND						
Is the amount of the refundable deposit displayed separately on the receipt provided to the purchaser for each such battery purchased?						
AND						
Is the Dealer refunding the deposit to that person if, within 45 days of the sale of the replacement lead-acid battery, the person presents to the dealer a used lead-acid battery of the same type and size?						

DTSC 1627 (1/2020) Page 3 of 5

Dealers (25215.1(d)) (For all "retail sales" and "sales at retail" as described in 25215.1(p) directly to persons in California) Compliant N/A Inspection Items Remarks Yes No 25215.2(c) – Has the Dealer posted the following written notice such that it is clearly visible in the public sales area of the establishment: This dealer is required by law to charge a nonrefundable \$1 California battery fee and a refundable deposit for each leadacid battery purchased. A credit of the same amount as the refundable deposit will be issued if a used lead-acid battery is returned at the time of purchase or up to 45 days later along with this dealer's receipt. OR Has the Dealer included the above written notice on the purchaser's receipt?

DISCLAIMER

This checklist is intended as a guide only. It does not modify, replace or supersede relevant statutes or regulations. Each Dealer and Manufacturer is required to comply fully with the law—whether or not a matter is addressed in this checklist. The information contained in this checklist is based upon the statutes and regulations in effect as of the date the checklist was signed. Interested parties are advised to review and keep apprised of the relevant statutes and regulations and all subsequent changes.

Note: Citations are to the California Health and Safety Code, Division 20, Chapter 6.5. Comments

DTSC 1627 (1/2020) Page 4 of 5

State of California – California Environmental Protection Agency Department of Toxic Substances Control

Comments

DTSC 1627 (1/2020) Page 5 of 5