



# Department of Toxic Substances Control



Meredith Williams, Ph.D.
Acting Director
8800 Cal Center Drive
Sacramento, California 95826-3200

September 30, 2019

## **IMPORTANT NOTICE**

You are receiving this Notice from the Department of Toxic Substances Control (DTSC) because you, or your company, are registered pursuant to the Lead-Acid Battery Recycling Act of 2016 (Act) as a lead-acid battery "Dealer" and/or "Manufacturer." If you are not a Dealer and/or Manufacturer under the Act, please forward this Notice to each Dealer and/or Manufacturer you represent.

DTSC oversees some aspects of the Act. This Notice is a reminder of certain Dealer and Manufacturer obligations and requirements. In addition, this Notice is to inform you that starting in October 2019, DTSC will begin inspections of Dealer and Manufacturer facilities to confirm compliance with the following requirements of the Act:

#### **Dealer Responsibilities Inspected by DTSC Under the Act:**

- 1) Accept up to six used lead-acid batteries per day, free of charge, from a person at the point of transfer. (HSC §§ 25215.15(b), 25215.2(a))
- 2) Collect a refundable deposit for each replacement lead-acid battery purchased by a person who does not simultaneously provide a used lead-acid battery of the same type and size. (HSC § 25215.2(b))
  - Display the amount of the refundable deposit separately on the receipt provided to the purchaser.
  - If a used lead-acid battery of the same size and type is returned within 45 days, refund the deposit to the purchaser.

3) Post the notice below in a clearly visible public sales area of the establishment or on the purchaser's receipt. (HSC § 25215.2(c)):

"This dealer is required by law to charge a nonrefundable \$1.00 California battery fee and a refundable deposit for each lead-acid battery purchased.

A credit of the same amount as the refundable deposit will be issued if a used lead-acid battery is returned at the time of purchase or up to 45 days later along with this dealer's receipt."

### **Manufacturer Responsibilities Inspected by DTSC Under the Act:**

Place a recycling symbol consistent with the requirements of Section 103(b)(1) of the Federal Mercury Containing and Rechargeable Battery Management Act, Pub. L. No. 104-142 (1996), and either "Pb" or the words "lead," "return," and "recycle" on all replacement lead-acid batteries sold in California. (HSC § 25215.65.)

#### Additional Information:

DTSC will begin these inspections in October 2019.

This Notice does not modify, replace or supersede relevant statutes or regulations.

The California Department of Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA) has the primary responsibility for administering the California battery fee under the Act. For guidance on the CDTFA's requirements, contact CDTFA or, visit their web page at:

https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/industry/lead-acid-battery-fees.htm

If you have questions about the Act, this Notice or need this Notice translated into another language, please contact DTSC at:

LABRF@dtsc.ca.gov